Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Hogmanay 2023

My first blip of 2023 was the January page of the calendar we make for family and friends so I decided to end the blipping year with  December's.  Alice the Otter has featured on Blip in the past. She's weathering nicely. If I walk round the river path with the children we always visit her. Adorably, my grandson once told his mum that he'd been to see Alasdair's Daughter

Goodbye 2023. What a turbulent year. Personally,   a number of my friends and acquaintances have become ill. Some very seriously ill, some life changingly so. Across the world -  upheaval, unrest, war, corruption, climate related devastation. For me there have been many happy times in 2023. Most have been recorded here on Blip,  a helpful memory jogger of my good fortune. 

Looking to 2024 there are elections which will have huge impact. There are some with the potential to further disrupt the world. Others - well we can only hope, and work,  for better. 

As I say every year I'm not a big fan of Hogmanay. I've had some great New Year celebrations in the past but these days I let it all happen quietly. I doubt I'll even be awake at the bells. 

The plan is a walk, if the rain stays away,  then some traditional house cleaning to welcome the new year. Our daughter will come round for a Hogmanay meal tonight and we'll conclude the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Then she'll go home and when we wake up tomorrow it will be 2024. 

Wishing you all a good evening if you're celebrating and to everyone a Happy New Year when it comes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.