Hogmanay

I spent a bit of time transferring important dates into next year's diary. I always start in pencil so that I can erase the inevitable mistakes or changes of plan. It doesn't last of course and soon there'll be crossings out and scribbles. I still use a paper diary. I've tried many times to use an electronic one and it just doesn't work for me. Here is 2023's diary with quite a full schedule in it already.

Thanks for all the kind comments yesterday. I said on 24th/Christmas Eve /Wigilia that I shouldn't count my chickens but yesterday I did.  I really shouldn't have done that. First of all a message from the Dundee contingent struck down by the lurgy and too unwell to travel. Next a 'phone call from the  Edinburgh crew - no trains at all   because of flooding. They were at Waverley Station with a large veggie lasagne for lunch here. They couldn't make it and neither could the lasagne. However there were still three generations present, despite dreadful travel conditions. The veggie shepherd's pie I'd made was enough for those who made it. We saw one of the group for the first time since 2017. The twins were an absolute delight. It was a lovely day.

Today I'm cleaning the house to welcome the New Year. At the risk of sounding like the grinch I'm keen to get  the Christmas decorations away. I won't clear them all till we're in to 2023 but I will make a start on some of it. There will be a review of 2022 (a pretty good year here) and some forward planning for 2023.

I'll probably see the fireworks but it will be a low key New Year. If you're welcoming 2023 in style have a great night. If you're bringing it in quietly enjoy a peaceful one. And very best wishes to all blippers for the year ahead. Thank you for your company in 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.