Hogmanay

Hogmanay today. I'm not a lover of New Year which I find over-laden with significance and unrealistic expectation. I'm not saying that I've never had a good Hogmanay as I have, many times. I appreciate the traditions associated with Hogmanay and 1st January. I used to enjoy the steak pie and sherry trifle at my grandparents' house for our new year celebrations. But these days I'm not so bothered. Which is just as well as celebrations will be low key to non-existent here with the covid precautions in place.

It's a time for review and looking forward though.

What a year it's been. There are many things we would have liked, or expected, to do that were postponed or cancelled. But we did manage to get away:
Arran
Orkney
Angus

And we saw the children pretty regularly after the initial lockdown in January and February. We've been fortunate to stay well and so far covid free. We've both carried on doing a bit of paid work and lots of voluntary activity.

We had guests and visitors, though nowhere near as many as in years gone by.

Blip has been, as ever, a discipline to relish. I've had a few blips I'm pleased with and some which others have kindly put onto the favourite page. Thank you to everyone who visits my journal.

Looking ahead is trickier this Hogmanay than last I think. Last year we had the promise of the vaccine and maybe still held onto the hope of life returning to 'normal'. Now we know we have to navigate our ways through a changed world and how that's going to happen I just can't imagine. It is hard to think ahead but I have some plans for 2022 and I'm hopeful.

Today: kale soup in the making (blip). If you're agnostic about new year why wait for January to have a healthy meal. Making a resolution about diet or exercise just seems daft to me. I no longer make resolutions which I reckon are bound to fail.

I do, however, wish everyone a very happy new year 2022 and I think it would be churlish not to. A happy, healthy and prosperous new year to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.