Glen Isla

Of the lovely Angus Glens, Glen Isla is the most westerly. Our walk today took us on the Cateran Trail, over a hill, through forest plantations and more sympathetic woodland, over the River Isla and into Kirkton of Glenisla which is the tiny collection of white buildings in the distance. It was a more strenuous walk than I would normally do so when we eventually reached the Glenisla Hotel I felt entirely justified in the chips I ordered to accompany my lunch.

Our holiday house is excellent. So roomy and comfortable. And warm. There is an enormous wood pellet burner which roars into life every so often.

Our plan had been to go out to eat tonight in Blairgowrie. About 09:00 this morning I had a phone call from the restaurant manager to say he was having to close because a staff member tested positive for Covid. I felt so sorry for him. Anyway we had a late and huge lunch so a small evening meal back at the house will do us fine.

Before then though, at dusk, I'm going to head out to see if I can spot one of the local beavers. I will let you know if I am successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.