Taking my chances in the drizzle

After my regular Tuesday catch up with four great friends I decided to go for a walk before the weather deteriorated. It was damp but bearable. Quite nasty now and decidedly wet and chilly. I love being outside but I think that might be it for me today.

Back to my family history research. I decided to look at my dad's father's family about which I really don't know much at all. What enabled young William (my great grandfather) to leave farm labouring in Angus to become a lawyer and move to Edinburgh? Luck? A good Scots education? Serendipity? What happened to his numerous older siblings? I don't know how to find out. My grandfather, great grandfather and great great grandfather were all getting on in age (for those days) before their sons were born. William's father, James, was born in 1796 or 97. I've gone back as far as the 1841 census but have now got stuck. I will have a look at church registers on the basis that they were probably baptised. Fascinating stuff.

I'm going to bake and cook this afternoon. It feels like the right kind of weather. Pandemic news and political developments aren't good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.