Missing

Here is a poster currently in the front garden. This is a week of action calling for the regulation, or abolition, of driven grouse moors in Scotland. Many raptors such as hen harriers and eagles are killed to protect grouse which are then shot for 'sport'. As the poster illustrates other animals, such as beautiful mountain hares, are also sacrificed. Grouse moors comprise a surprisingly large proportion of the landmass. There are all sorts of ecological and social reasons to ban grouse shooting but the land is in the hands of rich and powerful people.

The summer I left school I spent a fortnight as a grouse beater on an estate in Speyside. The living conditions were poor and the pay pitiful. I don't remember being particularly effective in my role and for that I'm glad. There's an argument about the employment which grouse shooting provides. Some people do earn a living from managing the land and the stock but there are other profitable and less damaging ways in which the moors could be put to use.

Why does insomnia strike when there's a really busy day ahead? I might just have answered my own question there. I was awake for hours in the night. Some of the time I spent mulling over the family history research trying to get the relationships straight in my head. I've found this happening before so I need to find a way to manage it.

Anyway up in good time to let my son in to deliver our younger granddaughter for a day of fun. She'll be here till her mum collects her then it's a full, public Community Council meeting this evening. I've quite a bit to report on - all good stuff.

I'm blipping while the wee one has her nap then it'll be all systems go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.