Cortachy Kirkyard

Today was the day I'd set aside to follow some of the family history leads uncovered in my recent research. My dad's side of the family originally hailed from Kirriemuir and nearby.  My  great great grandmother's birth is recorded in the parish register for Cortachy and Clova. Her death was registered in Kirriemuir, only four miles distant. Her name was Leah Crighton.

This is the cemetery of Cortachy Church. Cortachy is a tiny village in Glen Clova sitting on the bank of River South Esk. The church is huge for the size of the village but as Cortachy is the seat of the Earls of Airlie I think that explains the impressive place of worship. I don't know if my great great grandmother is buried here. Probably not. I wish I knew more.

The extra is the street name of my great grandmother's birthplace. The actual dwellings, labourers' cottages, have gone but this is definitely the right street. Her name was Margaret Alexander and she was Leah's daughter in law.

The day didn't start well with a punctured tyre. There's no spare tyre in cars these days, only some foamy stuff to make them safe for a short time. Not at all keen on that. Luckily the breakdown cover arranged a recovery vehicle which turned up in about 15 minutes, took the car, Cameraman, the dog and me into Kirriemuir and left us at a garage. The chap there repaired the tyre and we were good to go about an hour later. We'd intended to go to Kirriemuir on this ancestor trip anyway so it all worked out.

I'm on cooking duty tonight. Unfortunately our friends had to go away for the day but they'll be back about 6:30 pm. We didn't look for the beaver last night as it was very wet. We'll try later. It is damp and exceptionally mild. We are avoiding the awful rain further south and west thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.