Magnum Opus

For the second time in a week I'm blipping the cover of a book. The contrast could hardly be greater.

Yesterday this handsome hardback book arrived in the post. It's written and published by my uncle. I knew he was working on it but I'm ashamed to say I thought it was going to be more of a pamphlet. I was astonished to receive a signed copy of this book which runs to over 100 pages of meticulous research. Colzium Springs, in the Pentland Hills, is the source of the Water of Leith. Colinton is the area of Edinburgh he, and most of my family, hails from.

Of course I've not yet read in any detail but I already note that the book strays far from this discrete area and takes in Leith, Aberlady, Peebles, Tain and the Netherlands. It also has some touching personal memoir, "In October 1943, and as a late birthday treat for me, my father and I travelled on the last passenger train service from Balerno to the Caledonian Station. Before embarking it was customary to buy a bar of Fry's Chocolate Cream for 1d from the slot machine... "

My uncle has just turned 86 so this might not be his 'great work' but I expect he feels a period of relaxation might now be in order.

That's how I feel today too.  A quiet one for me I hope before a busy Friday and Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.