pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Happy New Year's Eve

And another year has flown. 2023 has not been great for us, but yesterday I decided to look through my blips from the year, to remind myself of the good and the bad bits.

The over-riding theme from those on Facebook who comment on my blips, tends to be 'how do you fit so much in' or 'I'm exhausted just reading them'. Looking back on the last 364 days, I'm proud of how much I've fitted in. You only get one shot at life, and there are lots of things I want to be doing, and I refuse to put them to one side in order to do the things I have to do (work) just to make those other things possible. So, tired or not, I plan to continue doing my many crafts, allotment, writing, garden, singing, poetry and caravaning in 2024. More if I can.

To summarise 2023, if you have the time and energy, February was busy, with a Chester college girls meet up weekend in Cambridge, a week away in our caravan to Foxton Locks, a night out seeing Chris de Burgh, Jon's motorbike accident and his dad's 80th birthday celebrations. We squeezed in a weekend in the caravan in Cambridge and also saw old Linton friends with a night in the pub.

We went on to have several meet ups with old friends through the year, in March for Martin's 60th, July for a Borrell reunion, and September in the Lake District. All important rebonding times, with some of our oldest friends. Jon then did the NC500 trip with Martin and Andy, taking a big chunk of October with planning and execution.

Who could forget us acquiring our new caravan in April. I write this blip lounging on my caravan bed, on its 4th outing now since April. Every one has reaffirmed our decision to buy it this year was the right one, and we have never been as happy. It has been to Edinburgh, Ludlow, Sandringham and now Canterbury. In addition we had our regular Highland Show camping week, plus an impromptu night camping on Cromer beach in September. We really are happier when we are camping!

May was a stressful month as Mollie had her operation. But she has turned her life around since that day in May and everything that followed. Qualifying as a primary school teacher and obtaining her first job less than 3 weeks after her op. She has just completed her first term and is hoping to move out into her own home soon. In August, Mollie and I had a lovely few days in London - a challenge with our backpacks, but we did lots of steps!

We've had celebrations in the garden and on the beach for Henry's 21st birthday in June, and again for Dan's in September. For Mollie's in December we visited a local, new to us, pub for a lovely meal....but that is on next month's credit card bill!!

My allotment has given me the usual ups and downs. Basically we had courgettes...more courgettes.. and yet more courgettes. A few runner beans made in an appearance together with broad beans early on, but everything else either failed to flourish (potatoes and onions - very unusual) or was eaten by the local wildlife (all brassica and sweetcorn & tomatoes) I'm not put off, and will try again next year.

Work has seen many changes, quite a lot of stress, and me questioning where I go from here at various points in the summer. But I'm sticking with it for now, and in April will review that. I see some positives on the horizon which might make things better. I have a good, solid, loyal team, so owe it to them to try to continue making the powers that be, accept change can be good, and that we can benefit.

The year has brought Jon and I closer to some old friends we had almost lost contact with. For that I'm grateful. Trying to see some positives from 2023.

It's a drizzly, windy day in Kent, so we are not doing much today. Have bought something to cook for dinner today and tomorrow in our caravan. A simple new year's eve, which is normal for us. Just an afternoon making some lists, reading and planning. Perhaps more games, and I'm going to have a go at my wool spinning.  

Thank you all for following my (sometimes tedious) exploits in 2023. I know I write too much...sorry, but that isn't going to change (neither will the spelling mistakes)! Best wishes to you all for a fabulous 2024. It just has to be

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.