pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Canterbury - day 2

I slept better last night, waking only once. Then a long lie in for us both until 9!! I could hear rain on the windows, so saw no need to rush. Once up, we had breakfast then got bags together and walked in to Canterbury again. It was a bit drizzly but apart from that, fine.

It was mostly a wandering about, looking in shops, and eating kind of day. We decided against visiting inside the cathedral at £17 per adult. I felt that was too much. It's a shame because I'd like to see inside. Anyway, we wandered to this small tea shop called Tiny Tim's. Id been here with Karen and Joanne a few years ago, and remembered something about ghosts. I had a very tasty cross between scone and rock cake, and tea. It was huge. Jon had fruit bread and coffee. When he had finished, I sent him up to the top floor of the building yo the ghost room where there is information about the weird things that were found in the walls - mummified bodies of children and lots of teeth, locks of hair and things like that. You may be able to Google it.

More browsing, and a long walk around the outside of the centre, by the river, took us to this enormous plane tree. Jon had never seen one this big. I heard someone say it is 700 years old, and Jon agreed it could easily be.

Sadly the Canterbury Tales Experience closed in 2020. I went with the girls a few years so, and we had thought it would be a good place to go. The buildings and signs are all still there, but firmly closed. So we really haven't been able to get any proper historical learning, apart from just walking about and taking in the many old overhanging buildings. The photo of Jon with the Chaucer statue is the closest we got to culture!

We had a late lunch out, and wandered back to the site for about 5pm. My legs are properly aching now. Over 16000 steps my body is not used to.

We've had nibbles, cheese, biscuits and left overs for our tea. Quietly reading, or listening to the radio ever since we got in. I think I'll be asleep early tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.