Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Go On, You Can Do It!

This little fella was obviously struggling and was getting battered against the barrier by the wind - he wasn't tied to it, so all he had to do was exert some energy to get ABOVE the the barrier and then he would be free - but he seemed to want to keep punishing himself, so moved along, and each time got another whack!

I could have freed him but I don't think he would have thanked me because then he would have to go soaring into the sky, and perhaps that was what he had a problem with - maybe he was comfortable in his "little rut".

I'll never know what happened to him because I had to run to catch my bus, but it made me think how often we do the same thing. We want to get out of a situation, but we know that to do that takes courage and determination and often it is easier to stay where we are and keep doing the "same old, same old" thing.

Maybe we need someone to come alongside and help us - or perhaps we could even ask for help, but feel too proud - so we struggle on, getting more and more disenchanted with ourselves and life in general. Sometimes all it takes is a phone call to a friend to say "I'm struggling, can you pop over to help me, please?" Or maybe we need to go out and help someone else, and in doing that, we would feel better about ourselves and our situation.

When you're up in life, your friends get to know who you are;
When you're down in life, you get to know who your friends are.


P.S. Sorry about the pink chewing gum in the background - didn't notice it until I looked on the larger photograph - sadly one of the scourges of our present day society!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.