pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Early start

Last night, Jon and I went to see the film Wonka in the local cinema. I'm glad it was my birthday, as the tickets were £14.50 each, which was quite shocking! But the cinema was luxurious, with loads of space, small tables and reclining seats, and it was possible to order food and drink to be delivered to your seat. We didn't! However, we were early to our screening, so I splashed out on a birthday cocktail for myself, and a craft beer for Jon. The film was fun.

We ended up going to bed quite late, with plans to wake at 6 so as to avoid the worst of the weather forecast for today. I was awake before 6, and once we had got everything packed up, eaten breakfast, washed up, emptied water and toilet, we were on the road just after 7.30, just as the rain started.

The drive was horrible on the motorways. Heavy morning back to work traffic, lots of lorries, mixed with increasingly heavy rain. But after one stop on the M11 we got home by 12.30.

As always, I feel shattered even though I didn't do the driving.

Spent some time helping Mollie work out what to pack. She is getting the keys after work on Friday, to the bedsit in Cromer she will be renting. It's quite exciting. She has a lot of stuff, but not very much room, so needs to be sensible with what she needs, and what can be boxed up for a future more permanent home. I'm excited also because it means I'll be able to move my office working back inside. That will be a job for next week, as this weekend will be focused on moving Mollie.

I popped out to Argos to buy a new crockery set. My first new set in 35 years. Unfortunately they only had one set in stock and I wanted two. So I'm going to order another set before they all sell out, as it was reduced.

When Henry got home, I opened presents Mollie and Henry had bought me, plus lots more cards. Thank you all again for thinking of me.

One last thing to tell fellow blippers who are interested. I've made no secret that I'm keen to write another book - one for adults this time. Setting myself an achievable goal, I'm giving myself a whole year to write it. That means 270 to 300 words a day. I did some planning for it last year, with the intention of starting to write on 1st. Of course I didn't do any writing yesterday, but on the drive home I managed to write a whole (short) chapter of about 1000 words. So I'm 300 words in credit on the 2nd day of the year, and have covered yesterday's word count. Hope to continue in this vein every day, and by December I should have an 80,000 word novel. Fingers crossed I can think of enough to say! Just 79,000 words to go.... :-)

My head is aching badly, so after 'Digging For Britain' I'm heading to bed. Work tomorrow and another early morning will be a shock to the system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.