KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Cold and Raw

But I had an amazing massage! I see my therapist once a month, and have been going to her for about 8 years. Best massage therapist in the world ;-)

Afterwards I took an item that Mr WK forgot out to his job site and got to see his work...very cool. Then home again.

My graduate degree is a Masters of Education in Creative Arts and Learning which was based on an expressive arts therapy curriculum (I think my program is actually defunct now). I graduated in 2001, and had recently found my birthmother and was corresponding with her. I spent much of my work in grad school focusing on adoption, and in particular the two "sides" of who I am - the person I might have been had I grown up in my birth family, and who I was as a result of growing up in my adopted family. Which by the way IS my family...it became quite clear that I am very grateful to have grown up exactly how and where I did.  Heady stuff. 

Since I retired last July, I gave myself until the end of 2023 to loaf around and play golf (OK, not, had hand surgery instead), etc. etc. And then I needed a project of some sort. It occurred to me that I have a story to tell that might not only be cathartic to me, but might be helpful to others that have had adoption touch their lives in some way. Today I got out my grad school work , along with notebooks full of sketches and writing and my final project. My undergraduate degree is in fine arts, so drawing is prevalent in my work. An idea is forming and I'm really excited about having the time to explore this. More soon!

Meanwhile, I bought this hyacinth bulb at Trader Joe's a week ago or more...I do love watching them grow in the kitchen window...no sun streaming in today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.