isbi

By isbi

de Havilland Mosquito

I grew up with this Mosquito bomber, amongst many other things I’d now find interesting (such as an even older steam engine my grandfather used for cutting chaff), lying around our farm.
Dad had bought it from the Airforce after WW2 for £100 to use for spare parts to fix things (Dad could fix just about anything). 
As you can see here, he had already scavenged quite a few bits and it was even more derelict in my time. But we used to play in it and rip bits of balsa wood out to make model aeroplanes. I remember my boy cousins being very enthusiastic when they visited.

Dad used to say he was silly not to have built a shed over and preserved it. It would have been worth a lot now. 
Thanks for hosting Silly Saturday KangaZu. Probably also worth a Derelict tag for Marlieske's challenge.

PS. Mr isbi says I should have mentioned the Merlin engine. Pictured in the extra on this page is one of two Dad owned, but I'm not sure if they were from this plane.

I took this picture when I visited my brother this morning to photograph some old family photographs he wants to reproduce in a book. 
Some I had never seen before, including ones of my great great grandparents which I found very interesting. They looked remarkably well dressed. Apparently they were quite well off as they owned a butcher’s shop!

Now heading over to the family for dinner. Omar is cooking tonight:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.