helenann

By helenann

First rose of the year

This morning, we drove to my mum's old house, turned up the heating there, and had a quick bite of lunch. I was relieved not to discover any damage from the recent storms. In the garden I found this solitary yellow rose which I picked so we could enjoy it indoors.Then we travelled the 5 miles to visit my Mum's sister. Over the last few days my Aunt's condition has deteriorated to such an extent she is now bed bound and receiving supplementary oxygen. Her carers are looking after her very well. She is still able to eat and drink, and we gave her little sips of water, tiny pieces of fruit, and spoonfuls of mousse. 
We stayed with her in her flat for nearly 4 hours before returning to my Mum's house to stay the night. Although it's a sad situation, I was glad to be able to see my Aunt again, and will visit her tomorrow too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.