Living my dream

By Mima

Apricots!

My greatly anticipated apricot crop has begun. The last two mornings I’ve patrolled the ground beneath each tree and each day I’ve picked up more than I can fit in my pockets. The bowl is already almost full.

Having never grown them successfully before I’m not sure what to do with them all. I will definitely make some crumbles, both to eat fresh and to freeze. And apricot jam is a must. If I get overwhelmed I’ll dehydrate a heap. However if anybody has any go-to apricot recipes, please do share them.

So I’m turning comments on again. 

This has been the first time I’ve gone commentless, and even though it was only a day it demonstrated to me that I miss them and I need to find other ways to more effectively manage my time on Blip. To wit, I shall comment on other journals less often, distribute stars and hearts more liberally. I have slipped into the polite habit of responding to every comment left on my Blips. I forthwith absolve myself of that unnecessary action.

Today has been filled with the usual activities of picking, processing, cooking and walking; with the addition of making a Caerphilly cheese. 

I even managed to squeeze in some time with my book: ‘Tom Lake’ by Ann Patchett, which is proving hard to put down.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.