carliewired

By carliewired

58 F/ 14 C

Birds seem to like my
backyard orange tree, so I
am happy to share! 

~carliewired

I slept until almost 8 this morning. It was a grey, chilly morning. The house was dark until noon when the sun suddenly broke through.

I'd already decided that I was staying home and living in my pajamas for the day. So, I went birding in my backyard. I've set a chair just outside the back door so I can step out there in my sock feet if I so choose. 

I seem to have a number of sparrows coming and going. They appear to be friendly with one another but no two look exactly the same, so I can't really identify them. They like to perch on those dead twigs in the orange tree. It gives them a good lookout point. 

I think my mockingbird was singing in the orange tree today. I could hear this varied song, then it suddenly landed on the ground and began searching around. 

Any time that a bird lands in the orange tree, my resident hummingbird sets up a protest. It did not show itself while I was watching, but it certainly voiced its discontent with the other birds. 

I really need to try those oranges as they are starting to fall to the ground. They are tangelos and usually so sweet and juicy. I just don't want to annoy the hummingbird. Maybe I should go out there with a flashlight after dark.

I'm home to sweat over a hot sewing machine......I've got to get that quilt top done! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.