Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3297. New technique?

I was researching what I could do for #artandfoundday this year.  I did paintings last year and the year before I did photos, so, I decided to look for something new and different.  I came across a web site which talked about combining art and photography.  One of the techniques described was to print a black and white photo and then “colourise “ it with acrylic paint.  I thought this technique lent itself to landscape or monuments so I’ve printed out a black and white photo of Stirling Castle and have started to add some colour to it using acrylics, some of which are metallic so it has a very interesting effect!

I will probably do 3 images and I will need to frame them to protect the acrylic paint on the paper as I don’t know how to prevent it from flaking off when dry…maybe varnishing it?  I’ve stopped just now to see how it dries and if it looks fine, I will just frame the photo once it’s finished.

#artandfoundday basically involves leaving one or more pieces of art or crafts wrapped and labelled for anyone to pick up and keep.  All of mine have always been collected but so far I’ve only one person “claim” the art on social media.  I must make sure I write instructions on how to do this on the label this year.  It’s a Canadian artist who promotes this every year in memory of a family member and although there are lots of “proper” artists who do this, I always enjoy joining in!

Housework all done this morning and a long walk to and from the chiropractor before making lunch and some soup for today and tomorrow.

Just relaxing now and doing some final packing for our holiday…can’t wait for some sunshine!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.