This is the day

By wrencottage

Coal Tit

Of all the visitors to the bird feeders today, this coal tit was my favourite. 

I’ve taken down all the Christmas decorations today, although some haven’t made it all the way back to the loft and are waiting on the first floor landing. (Too many flights of stairs to climb in one day, so I’ll do the rest tomorrow.)

I’ve also done all the ironing, and taken delivery of a new shelf for the utility room.  I’ve also … wait for it … taken delivery of an industrial -sized plastic tray in which to soak my oven shelves. My oven is over 20 years old and is 10cm wider than the standard, so I’ve never been able to use the ‘overnight-soaking in dishwasher detergent’ method to help with cleaning them. Finally I solved the problem by looking at sites for industrial spillages, would you believe! The smallest one I could find was still very big, but it fits on my utility room worktop, I can fill it from the tap and my trays fit in easily. I can also store it in the garage, so that’s ideal. I realise I’m a strange person to get excited about being able to soak my oven shelves, but there you are, that’s how I’m made!

However much I enjoyed all those different parts of my day, the best bit for me was actually this morning when I finished re-reading Watchman Nee’s classic little book "Sit, Walk, Stand", which is a study on Ephesians. It’s years since I last read it, and it blew me away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.