Sprout lover

By robharris35

Reading material

I enjoyed browsing the shelves of books in the seemingly rarely touched book exchange where I’m staying. Mostly German and unidentified Eastern European languages. Last week I was talking with a friend about how it might be healthy to read something lighter than my usual genre, typified by my most recent book about the 2011 Libyan Revolution. When I arrived at the first Airbnb of this trip the book left by previous guests which looked great was about…female genital mutilation (FGM). Perhaps it’s a blessing that my eye infection prevented me finishing the Libya book in time. Perhaps the eye infection is the body’s protest against harrowing reading material. Stranger things have happened.

From the mostly German titles I’ve acquired a more lighthearted English novel. Although it is technically about bereavement.

I’m finding there are too many places to lay and relax. It’s not a taxing challenge. There is a certain joy of laying in the African sun at around the 4pm mark when some of its searing power has waned. A lady staying at the same place, who introduced herself as Jaclyn from northern Tanzania, was doing a similar activity as the waves licked her feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.