littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Gillies

Copying keepingtracks diary now

Was headed to the beach this morning but drizzle so after dropping R off at school parked at Modern 1, and had a wee scoot around. As per usual, it’s not overly to my taste and I don’t get a lot of it…. Stuffed tights anyone? Fifteen minutes later we were out.
Walked along to the main event at the National Gallery to see the Turner exhibition which is only staged in January to protect the colours . I was slightly underwhelmed ( sacrilege I know) only because I’ve seen so many of his other works, maybe more impressive, elsewhere. Our favourite was of Melrose not realising he was friends with Sir Walter Scott.
More interesting was the exhibition of Sir William Gilles who lived for many years in Temple village my old haunt. One of my biggest regrets was being unable to buy his house in Temple when it was on sale in 2016. Timing was just not right and to be fair I didn’t have the money so give it the TLC it needed. The light within, the garden and the potential to develop it, it was a wee gem, but the right people bought it and have nurtured it by the looks of it. A film from 1970 was playing, and so many of the familiar doors were featured.
When we came out the sun had appeared. We went up to our favourite The Wall cafe on Cockburn St and had the BEST avocado flatbreads. Still thinking about them!
A wander down through the New Town to Stockbridge and back along the Water of Leith to the car.
Home for lots of chores and amazing what you can achieve when you do not sit on the sofa.
Back to normal working week tomorrow so cannot complain, for the amount of time off I’ve had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.