A time for everything

By turnx3

Mono Monday: Geometric

Another lazy day, reading in the morning, and Book Club in the afternoon, by which time I still hadn’t finished it. This months book was Demon Copperhead, by Barbara Kingsolver, co-recipient of the 2023 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. It was a long book, and difficult to read, but we all agreed very well and cleverly written. She modeled the book after Charles Dickens David Copperfield, but it tells the story of Damon, nicknamed Demon, born to a teenage, drug addict, single mother in a single-wide trailer in the mountains of southern Appalachia. He loses his mother at a relatively early age, not that she’d been much of a mother to him, and grows up facing the modern perils of foster care, child labor, derelict schools, athletic success, addiction, disastrous loves and crushing losses. So, as I said, not a pleasant book to read, but the way she writes it, in Demon’s voice, you grow to really care for and root for the character, and you find yourself afraid for what’s going to happen to him next.
When I got back, I went for a neighbourhood walk, but it was only about half an hour - I hadn’t realized how cold it was, and hadn’t put my gloves on, and my hands were really cold - but at least I got some steps in.
For the Mono Monday challenge, Geometric, I decided to blip the sound board of my grand piano, with its lines, triangles and circles.
Step count: 5,503

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.