JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Woolly hug

It's turned very cold this week, so I've been living in my big Aran cardigan (and I'm afraid it is starting to show). It's generous enough to fit over several other layers and is long, high necked, knitted in very bouncy wool, and is extremely cosy. It also has a large pocket knitted into each side a little above the bottom rib, each with its own little ribbed edging, perfect for my hankies and more. My mum hand knitted it at least twenty years ago - it's thirteen years since she died -  so it always makes me think of her with love and gratitude, and it feels like a big, warm, woolly hug. She loved knitting cables and textured designs, and always did so impeccably neatly. I've not (yet) learned to emulate her in this respect, though I've managed the occasional little cable in mittens, hats or socks and am hoping to tackle a more ambitious cabled beret once I've finished J's rainbow socks. 

This is for Tiny Tuesday's "clothing detail" challenge. It's a subject which really appeals to me and I thought of lots of candidate items, but it was rather late in the day when I checked the challenges and started, and although it's not very tiny, this is the piece of clothing I love most right now, for its warmth and comfort and for the love which crafted it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.