jennym999

By jennym999

Lunch at the Lanesborough Hotel

As today was my Birthday we met friends for lunch at The Lanesborough Hotel by Hyde Park Corner. This is a very upmarket hotel housed in what was formerly St George’s Hospital until 1980. It was refurbished extensively and opened as a traditional hotel in 1991. The cheapest rooms are about £1000 per night but the set lunch is really good value and you can get a Travelzoo deal which includes wine. We went there last year too and again were so impressed with the service and the presentation of  all the food. The restaurant has been built in an area that was previously a courtyard so it has a glass ceiling like a conservatory .

When I booked I did say it was for a Birthday so on arrival they gave me this card and inside it said “ Thank you for letting us be part of your special day” …a very nice touch. The desserts were lovely and I got another little one with a candle! See extras. The card is not representative of my visit……..no clothes shopping……but I’m guessing some of their well heeled guests do lots as Harrods etc nearby. 

 Next door is a very new modern hotel, the Peninsula, which is also very expensive. When we passed I was amazed that the doorman had a bobble hat whereas at the Lanesborough they had frock coats and bowler hats! 

Another chilly day 1-4C and a lovely colourful sunset when we were on the train coming home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.