Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Brancaster beach

We left home by 6am to drive to Norfolk. In addition to the online drone workshop that I booked for Gavin for Christmas, I also booked him a 1:1 drone workshop to be done on a day that suited him - that day was today. The drone photographer is based in Cambridge and I thought that Gavin would go there for his workshop, but the photographer suggested Norfolk as he said it had more open air space where drones were allowed - so that suited us. 

We arrived, unpacked and then Gavin went to Kings Lynn where he was meeting the photographer, dropping Xena and I off near Brancaster for a walk. Although rain was not forecast, for the first 45 minutes of our walk it was drizzling with a fine rain, but by the time we got to the beach it was bright with blue skies. It was nearly empty of other people, just a few other walkers around. We had a good walk and then walked back to Brancaster Staithe, walking very quickly as I had to get back in time to receive the grocery delivery.

I had just got back and washed Xena down when the Waitrose truck pulled up, so that was good timing. I spent a quiet day at the house, editing photos and reading. Gavin has had a brilliant day out and in addition to learning so much about drone photography has also learnt that you have never truly experienced cold until you have been outdoors all day on a winter photography workshop! He is not back yet but they have moved on to Thornham to photograph the sunset, if there will be one.

I have been reading A History of Loneliness by John Boyne - he is one of my favourite writers and this one is as good as his other books. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.