Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

High tide at the coal barn

I set my alarm last night as I knew this morning that sunrise and the high tide would be aligned, and I planned to take some photos of the coal barn in Thornham. Thankfully at this time of year the sunrise is so late at around 8am. Gavin came with me and while I was taking photos he was using his newly acquired drone skills (!) to video the scene. 

It was freezing cold, there was an icy wind and as soon as the sun came up we left as I could not feel my hands anymore. Gavin is quickly learning what a cold business winter landscape photography is!

The sun rises over the land at this time of year, so the coal barn is bathed in a pinky glow which is reflected back from the sunrise in the opposite direction. It was lovely to also hear all the pink footed geese as they flew overhead in a huge murmuration.

After breakfast we went to Blakeney, and did a shortish walk to Morston on the sea defence path and back again. The wind was so cold we were not keen to stay out in the wind for too long. We came home for lunch and enjoyed some of the foods from our hamper gift we received earlier this week, one of which was the most delicious smoked salmon.

After lunch Gavin took Xena to Brancaster beach for a run around and by now the wind had dropped and it was very pleasant, with quite a few people out walking. 

It will be another lazy evening in front of the fire tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.