Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wildlife Photographer of the Year

I was up early - in fact I woke up very early as I had terrible pain in my leg, I suspect I have sciatica and the pain woke me up at 2.30am and did not let up until I got up and walked around. I am seeing the physio next week so I will discuss this leg pain with him. I walked Xena and was able to take her home and get to the station in time to get the 10.30am train to London. However, in my haste I left my camera behind....

I had tickets to the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition at the Natural History Museum, and I was meeting a friend there. I arrived early so went to the cafe to get a coffee, where I bumped into my friend who had also arrived earlier than we planned. After a natter over coffee we went into the exhibition. I had seen many of the images in the newspaper and in magazines, but it was something else to see them in large print backlit in the darkened exhibition halls. So many photos were exceptional! A photographer I know (Tom Way) was a runner up in one of the categories and I know he was super excited to be included in this year's line up. I only had my iPhone with me so I took a few photos of my favourite images, the quality is not great but not having my proper camera with me gave me no choice. The bottom right image is a series of photos taken in Texas where they have the annual Bobcat hunt competition, the photos were very hard hitting and I felt disgusted at seeing how they treat killing these beautiful creatures as an annual bit of fun.

After seeing the exhibition we went to a nearby Middle eastern restaurant for lunch, the food was absolutely delicious. We had a selection of small sharing plates so got to taste many of their dishes, washed down with mint tea.

It was a lovely day out, and part of my new year's resolution to get out more and particularly to visit London more often - I have one of the greatest cities in the world on my doorstep and I need to enjoy that.

Now back home I have ironing, washing and other chores to do besides packing, as we are leaving for Norfolk very early tomorrow morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.