TMac

By TMac

The Dew of Little Things

An awful awful day that a friend helped make better.
I'd slept badly.
I had to walk out during my yoga class due to pain and spent the last third crying in the loos.
I'd cancelled all kayaking committments for the weekend as I was in too much pain.
I'd arranged to paddle with a friend.
The loch was frozen.
My elderly neighbour called to say she'd been robbed...

As we couldn't kayak and I could sense a day of despair ahead, I suggested to my friend that we walked from where we had parked.
So we did.
Birds, frosted trees, beaver activity by the river, another frozen loch, and, most importantly, my friend's uplifting chat and never-ending optimism made a bad day bearable.

"In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.
~ Khalil Gibran ~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.