carliewired

By carliewired

62 F/ 17 C

It doesn't take long
to find a bird in my own 
backyard to study...

~carliewired

I was up in the dark making coffee just after 7. I curled up in my recliner with my laptop and my big mug to wait for the sun to light up the house. 

I got so comfortable that I really didn't feel like getting dressed and heading off anywhere with my camera. I walked out to my backyard and sat in the chair beside the door. In moments, I detected something moving under the orange tree. 

Three ground doves were scouring around on the ground. They moved in and out of the shadows silently. Their feathers were puffed out to keep warm.  All the while, they kept their little eyes on me. 

When I first lived in Arizona for the winters, I thought these little fellows were juvenile mourning doves. They look like miniatures of the mourning doves. They are the smallest doves in the USA and, unlike the mourning doves, they do not migrate north to Canada. 

I'm in for the day giving my cranky feet a low mileage day. I will play with my quilting fabric. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.