pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Mum

I'll use this blip to fill in the blanks from the weekend, as plans went awry, and it has gone by in a blur.

Friday, I arrived at Harlow A&E at around 2.30pm. Mum saw numerous nurses and Dr's and eventually, at about 12 I think, they said she would stay in to be monitored, but we still had to sit in the waiting area until a bed was available. That happened at 3am. She settled and I left, getting into bed at 4am yesterday.

I woke at 8.30 got up, showered dressed etc and Jon arrived at 10.30. We had the funeral of a very good friend's mum to attend at midday, followed by an afternoon with the families. An emotional afternoon. Then we visited Andy - our good friend who Jon drove round the NC500 route with in October. Sadly his condition is challenging him and he is currently in the Isabel Hospice in Welwyn receiving extra special care from staff, family and friends alike. We spent 3 hours with him there, together with his close friend Angela who we had met in the Lakes trip and 2 of Andy's daughters. There is so much love for this man, we felt privileged to be able to spend that precious time with them all.

Jon drove me back to my mums house, then left for the long drive home, while I collected my bits and spent the evening with Manda and Bruce. Mostly drinking prosecco. We had another late night! It had been a draining day but lifted my the company of my lovely sister and bro in law.

So to today! Awake at 8.30 trying to decide what to do, I eventually made the decision to stay here for a few more days. After a tasty pancake breakfast made by Bruce, I drove over to see mum in Harlow. Spent 4 hours at her bedside, and managed to write 330 words of my story. Back to Manda's to finish cooking the roast dinner. Then back to mum's for the night, and a plan to work from here tomorrow.

Mum is waiting for an mri scan to see if it will explain what is going on. It may be a few more days yet, but she is actually enjoying the hospital atmosphere and company, and I think they are enjoying having her. I plan to head home Wednesday morning going straight to County Hall....but best not to plan too strictly...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.