helenann

By helenann

Turkey tail

A lovely,  bright, sunny day.
I visited my Mum again, and was pleased she remembered our conversation yesterday. I took with me a letter written to her, by my aunt's best friend, about all the activities they had participated in together over the years. My Mother was very interested in the letter, and  I feel sure she will re-read it. 
This  afternoon, Martin and I  went for a  local walk, and found this old log in the wildlife area, encrusted with a very striking fungus. I think it is Coriolus versicolor, commonly known as Turkey tail, or else a very similar species. 
The extra is of sheep grazing on the Yew Hill butterfly reserve,  with  St Catherine's hill in the distance,  to the left, and the start of the South Downs on the  right.  
This evening I phoned a few of my aunt's friends to give them our  sad news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.