Wintersweet

This morning, I took a phone call from a nurse at my Mother's  Care Home saying they were concerned about her because she had packed up her belongings and had declared she was waiting for me to collect her, to take her home. I agreed to  go to the Home, and found  my Mother  in an agitated state. Over coffee, one of the care staff and I managed to calm her down. I then unpacked her things and put them back in the  drawers and wardrobe, and on the shelves. The senior nurse talked to me and asked if I would agree to her putting in place a DOLS (Deprivation of Liberty Safeguard ) so the staff could  physically prevent my Mum from leaving the  Home. I said yes. Meanwhile my sister had phoned our Mum and was reminding her she had agreed to the move, and the reasons. I have left her a note, which  has been laminated, reminding her that we have all agreed she will stay for a fortnight, and then we will discuss the situation. I saw her into the  dining room for lunch,  removed her suitcase from her room, and went back to my home. 
A quick look around my garden revealed my Chimonanthus  in flower.It has a very strong, sweet, scent hence its common name of Wintersweet.
Martin and I  attended a local sustainability meeting which was about installing  solar panels and heat pumps, and the thermal imaging of homes  to reveal heat losses. Of course, with our one week's experience(!) we were able to speak (very !)authoritatively  about generating solar energy.

In the evening, we went out for a meal at the Old Forge pub, in nearby Otterbourne, which was just what we needed. We hadn't  eaten out together for months.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.