TMac

By TMac

A Spanish Tale

In 1989, I studied in Zaragoza in Aragon in Northern Spain. I stayed with an incredible Spanish family and became lifelong friends with the girl whose parents welcomed me into their home, introduced me to Spanish family life, taught me Spanish, loved me, and changed my life forever. 
We are both now middle-aged mothers of young adults. Our children have grown up together over the years.

For the past few days, one of my sons and his girlfriend have been in Barcelona. 
My friend's son is currently living there - an accidental discovery.
One suitcase made its way to Barcelona stuffed with gifts from Scotland. 
Another suitcase (in fact, two - they had to buy another and pay for extra baggage) made its way back from Spain stuffed with assorted Spanish goodies.

The physical gifts are heartwarming but the most important gifts of all are those of enduring friendship and the affection that our mutual purchases accompany. These are priceless and I am forever grateful for that chance educational opportunity all those years ago.
I'm also grateful for the friendships our children have experienced and their mastery of "Spanglish" as invented by their mothers!

‘Friendship multiplies the good in life and divides its evils.  Strive to have friends – for life without friends is life on a desert island.  To find one real friend in a lifetime is good fortune – to keep them a blessing’

~ Balthasar Gracian ~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.