madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Hello Ladies!

Trip to the allotment today to meet the woman who is going to clear my plot! As you can see from the extra it's a big job! Thats what 8 months away will do! My friend who has the plot next to me and who shares my greenhouse had asked his friend to sycthe his plot last week - he then went on to sycthe mine! In doing so he cleared all my various buckets, poles, netting etc and put them in one place. Very handy! 
We spent half an  hour sorting through all this into keep and take to tip, and then looking at what needed to be saved before she rotavated the plot. I have my  cat  Fred buried under some hellebores, and my other cats Tiggy and Molly, plus my two bantams Milly and Tilly under some slabs - so these are to remain undisturbed, as are two large clumps of Iris.The two french artichokes had sadly disappeared. I had taken up the branches from my Christmas tree so whilst she spread them under the two blueberry bushes in my fruit cage, I went to see the hens!
They were in fine form and were very pleased with the treats I had brought them! Henrietta is obviously being bullied - they would not let her near the treats. I gave the bullies some mealworms then gave some to Henrietta behind one of the food bins. It wasn't long before one of the other hens discovered them! 
I'm afraid the hens plot was in as bad a state if not worse than my plot! Rat holes everywhere!  Also the battery that supplies the electric fence had been disconnected and moved, and the fence whilst it had been tightened, the pegs to hold the bottom down were not there! Neither was the long earth pole! So this means the hens could push their way out if so inclined, and a fox could get in! I put the box back, connected it but of course the battery was dead! Not long after I got home I sent a message to the facebook coop page asking about the lack of battery! The response was it had been moved when the fence was sorted and the hens had seemed fine since! I retorted that it would only take one fox to kill them all! The battery will be used in future!
I was amazed at how I was fine walking on the plot so decided I would try doing 2 morning opens next week! It was so goos to be up there again - despite the carnage of my plot and the hens plot! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.