antipodean

By antipodean

Solstice

I really wanted a good picture for today and I don't think I managed it, but having looked at this photo for a while I'm starting to like it more and more.

Another day at work - we were quite busy and I felt like Anna and I spent a lot of the shift discussing things that need to be clarified or sorted out. We don't have a manager at the moment and we're struggling a bit with how things should be run.

This afternoon I decided I wanted a picture of the sunset for the winter solstice, so I headed up to the station to get the shot. I must have mis-timed it slightly, or picked a bad spot, because although the sun was still setting it was behind the buildings by the time I got to the station and I found it hard to get a clear shot. I spent fifteen minutes going up and down the stairs to the platforms, confusing the peak hour commuters while trying to get a good picture.

I do like this picture, and it's the best of the ones I took, but it wasn't quite what I wanted. On the other hand, I feel very lucky that I have one of the best views in (and of) Melbourne just a few minutes down the road, and it's nice to get a picture of it. I really want to get a good night shot one day on a nice clear night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.