... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Indoor Blip: Synthesiser Springs

Finer an action in large
Extra: Circuitry and bokeh

I've been slowly wiring up my studio (following a scheme that I've been working out since unwiring it all at my parents' house), and was rather rattled when I discovered that my oldest keyboard (a digital synthesiser with a very fine keyboard action) wouldn't power up or show any signs of "life". I scoured the service manuals and discovered that "not powering up" has some relatively un-horrifying explanations, and that proved to be the case as it was only the internal power supply that had failed, and just took opening up the synth, unwiring the power supply and rewiring a new one in. I even had a suitably-specified power supply in my stash of studio wiring... While I had the synth open, I also replaced an internal battery (which maintains saved settings), and it's now back to normal operation, [synth-]ing like its [2006]. Phew...
It is a very sonically flexible synthesiser, and my first serious polyphonic synthesiser, so even though my synthesis interests (synth-trests?) have taken me in rather less conventional directions since 2006 (e.g. Benjolin, Lyra, & Pulsar), it occupies a special place in my studio, not just because it has the finest keyboard action out of all of my keyboard instruments (which is just the job for playing my quirkier keyboard-less synthesisers).

Others here (or right from Layered circuit boards)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.