Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Snow, photographs and history

A very light coating of snow on the ground when I looked out this morning, so it was probably just as well that Mrs M left the car down at the roadside. 

It began to snow lightly around 2pm so I looked at the forecast to see what might happen later. 'Light cloud and sunshine for Oban', it said! Ha! Glad that we don't pay to hear the forecast!

I haven't been out at all today. I've had a dodgy hip for the last ten years but for a long time it hasn't bothered me much at all - just a bit achy sometimes. Unfortunately one of the exercises at the 'Strength and Balance' class must have done some damage as I'm finding it quite hard to walk today. Maybe I should ask for my money back! Photo Club tonight, so I hope I can get there!

I've spent the day looking out images for our next competition. I normally put pictures into folders for the various competitions, or even go out with a view to taking specific pictures, but I haven't done much of that this time. So I've trawled through a few thousand pictures and come up with eight which I shall enter - the subject is 'Dilapidation'. So far we have 52 images, but I'll probably get a few for from last minute enterers!

My Blip today had to be an indoor one. One of my Blipfriends will have seen this already! I've been enjoying this small informative book which follows both banks of the Thames from Putney to the Thames Barrier - 40 miles in total. I've walked a few sections several times and hope to walk some more this year. I love the Thames - we hired boats on the upper Thames many time in my younger days, but walking the London path takes you through nearly 2,000 years of history. The Romans began their first settlement, which they named Londinium, around 45AD and I read that the remains of a Bronze Age site has been found near Vauxhall Bridge. All that time the river has been flowing from Gloucestershire into the North Sea, or whatever was there back in the early days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.