PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Many Happy Returns of the Day

After all the partying with family at the weekend, today - my real birthday - was quiet but enjoyable. Began with a nice long soak in the bath, before opening cards and prezzies. A nice phone chat with my sister followed, and then daughter and grandson popped in for a flying visit. Mr PP took me out for lunch to the Cholmeley Arms in Burton-le-Coggles. (Apparently it was Game Week but I stopped reading the specials board at Wood Pigeon! My friends!!!)

Our meals were lovely, but the portions were so generous that we declined pudding, and spent much of the afternoon sleeping off the main courses. My blip is of a picture on the wall. I couldn't take my eyes off it as my brain kept switching between two images - one of sheep peeping over the wall, and one of birds flying from right to left. Couldn't stop looking at it.

My Extra shows a gorgeous handmade pottery jug that was a prezzie from my sister, which I'm afraid I've desecrated by adding this birthday balloon. Why? Because it is Balloon's 1st birthday: it was inflated on 17th January 2023 - and it's still going! Hmm. Oh, what a giveaway! It's true, I don't go mad over tidying and dusting... but its days must be numbered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.