"Born to be wild"

These were the words on one of my 70th birthday cards - followed by "until about 9pm". And it's so true! (Well, the reduced staying power, that is!) Thanks to my lovely husband, family and friends I've had a very enjoyable day. Woke to heavy frost that developed into beautiful sunshine. 

Opened cards and prezzies that had been building up during the week as people kindly posted early to allow for strike-action delays. Pottered around the house and had a mighty - and chocolatey - elevenses followed by an earlyish lunch at a pub we'd not been to before. I can thoroughly recommend The Cholmeley Arms in Burton-le-Coggles!

After lunch, the local family came round for cake (home-baked cupcakes and a bought cake) and fizz. LMB helped me blowing out my candles and took home two balloons, one for her and one for her brother. The shining yellow roses arrived from the Bug Pugglesworth branch of the family (aka my son and d-in-l) and had a call from my son in the morning. All-in-all a lovely day. And it doesn't end here as Mr PP has booked a surprise treat for the two of us. It's a spa weekend, but the venue remains a secret. All I know is it's not a very long journey and we shall be calling on my sister and niece en route... So far, I'm enjoying my seventies! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.