There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Heartbreakers: a Love Story

I'm going to tell you about a 43-second love story.

It was about 7 degrees F out and it looked breezy from the windows. The light was great, though, and my husband encouraged me to go out and give my frozen bubbles the old college try.

The night before, I had goosed up my bubble mix by adding more dish detergent, more corn syrup, and finally, a half teaspoon of sugar. I wanted BODY, and I got it!

So out I went into a sunny corner of our front yard with my bubbles. Well, the winds did come and take my bubbles, but not before I got some good shots. It was a bubble purist shoot, with very few accessories. Just a plastic sleeve and a round plastic ball decoration (accompaniments not utilized in this particular shot).

And then, the magic happened. . . .

I had almost forgotten how it is with the crystals, when the mix is right: how you watch them, second by second, turning more and more beautiful, holding your breath almost, and then they go POP! They are so gorgeous, they break your heart when they go! (One of my longest bubble sets lasted 43 seconds from blow to burst.)

I watched crystals being born out of nothingness. I watched shape and substance come to the great void. I watched Santa's reindeer, as dry leaves that before a wild hurricane fly, meet with an obstacle and mount to the sky. 

I saw light born out of darkness; 
I saw rainbows in the snow; 
I saw glory in the skies.

Can you tell I had a good time? :-)

I had two songs in mind for this Blip and I couldn't decide, so, lucky you, you get BOTH! First, here's Pat Benatar with Heartbreaker. Second, here's Foreigner, with Feels Like the First Time.

P.S. As always, here's a link to my canonical frozen bubble making tips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.