CrocusMan

By TonyG

Northern Lights

I picked up my  many small glaze test pieces from pottery tonight.  Arriving to see empty shelves and the small kiln on, I didn't notice the collection of finished work on the glazing table where two folk were working!   An hour later I discovered them :-)  Much happiness .... and a long supply of pottery for emergency blips!   This piece is the only one using the standard pottery glazes.   The base glaze is Obsidian, black.  Wavy strips of three other, coloured glazes which merge somewhat on vertical surfaces.  All combine, if you're lucky, to give this effect.  The whole piece is just under four inches tall.

I seem to have been on the go all day and yet this looked the 'quiet' one before a couple of busy ones!   After a little morning admin, I took Jamie to the health centre before I headed out to join a soup lunch in Bryncrug.  I was the last to arrive but there was still plenty of soup :-)   Thus fortified, Meg and I walked the Rhydyronen, Cynfal circuit and she got to chase her ball for a bit too.   Beautiful sunshine made it a treat for both of us.   Home to some tidying and sorting in Jamie's old room, which looks a lot better now and has space for a small wardrobe I should be bringing back from Birmingham on Monday.   

After a simple tea I was off to pottery where I have started on another of my sphere based vases.  I'll try to join the two halves I made and brought home before I go to bed.  'Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.