CrocusMan

By TonyG

Refired

A very busy day. 

A morning trip out with a friend to look at a lovely, if slightly remote property they are interested in.  Not sure if their idea will become a plan though.  The afternoon filled by a Jamie appointment in Dolgellau where the dogs got a walk.  

In between, the most significant time of the day, a funeral, someone who worked as an engineer and engine driver on the Talyllyn.  One of very few people to have featured in my journal here I pictured and wrote about him back in 2016   Mike left the packed church on his final journey to Eric Idle singing 'Let's all look on the Bright Side if Life,' a warm irreverence which was typical of the man himself.

The vase above, like yesterday's about 4 inches tall, had bald patches when first fired so I added an additional colour at the neck and patched the bottom.  Not sure whether it's glaze interaction or the effect of another firing but the blue band has taken on an interesting deep sea green look.  Overall I think it's an improvement.  Part of the circle of life, Mike's wife Liz introduced me to pottery when our children were all small and invited me to go on the waiting list for membership soon after I moved here.  Sometimes it's the little kindnesses that make the biggest differences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.