suehutton

By suehutton

The Coat of Arms of Charnwood Borough Council

I love winter light. It has clarity and lends depth to objects. Sitting outside Finkins awaiting my toasted egg and bacon sarnie on gluten free bread, I noticed this coat of arms decorating one of the bollards separating road from pavement. I assume it's the coat of arms of Charnwood Borough Council of which Shepshed is a part. 

There's a crown and some fleur de lys but I'm not sure what the rest represents. At any rate, the sun illuminated the bollard and threw the background into darkness.

Chatting to another couple also sitting outside, we learned that the new marketplace should be ready in no more than three weeks, so we'll be marketing from the fish stall there then. Workmen have been fitting so much street furniture that I wonder if there will be room for the market stalls.

The sun cheered us up even though it's continued very cold. All change as from tomorrow I understand from the weather forecast.

Back home, I continued work on my book. It's beginning to get very tedious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.