Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A walk to Haughton Castle

I was chatting to Margret (next door) on the phone this morning and said I was a bit fed up of the 1.5 mile route I’m doing from home towards Haughton each morning. She came up with a very good idea.

My friend, Brian, came to return a borrowed projector and to walk. We went in his car, along the Haughton Road and parked near the castle. We then walked along the very quiet lane towards Keepershield Farm.

The road is on the hillside and there are pleasant views of the North Tyne below and across the valley to Barrasford.

Brian did well to keep down to my pace and we walked 1.8 miles. No pain at the time either.

I have started to read Toby’s Room by Pat Barker, following on from Life Class. I had no idea that a dissecting room would feature. (Those were the days!)

PS Haughton Castle is privately owned and inhabited. Parts were built in the 13th and 14th centuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.