Teasel

By Teasel

Heron

We had a quiet morning.  Unlike last Saturday we didn’t sleep in.  Unlike last Saturday there was no rugby this morning.  I did a few chores, then late morning I popped out for a walk.
 
BB had a football match in Edinburgh this afternoon.  I wasn’t sure whether to join them, but went for it as the weather had brightened up. 
 
We dropped BB off for pre-match training and went for a walk along the canal, in the direction of Falkirk.  It was really lovely walk, even though the traffic was thundering along the nearby M8.  We probably walked a bit further than we should have done, and had a brisk walk back to the football pitch.  TT went off to watch the game, and I continued walking along the canal in the other direction – into Edinburgh.  I walked along to the Slateford area and even walked over the Slateford Aqueduct  - which is not my favourite thing to do.  OF course that meant I had to walk back over it on my return leg.  I got back to the car, just as the match ended.  They got beat again this week, but only by one goal,  and I found out that a number of their best players were ill or injured, so they didn’t have their best squad. 
 
We came home via Aldi, where steaks were purchased for the boys’ tea.  I did not have steak.
 
Later BB was off to another 18th birthday party, and TT and I continued watching Fool Me Once.  I was feeling tired.  It’s amazing how far you can walk in a short time along the canal path – very easy walking on the flat.
 
Although the weather has been much milder today and the snow and ice here has all disappeared,  the canal was still mostly frozen.  We spotted this heron and walked right past it.  I expected it to fly away – but it just stood there, looking at the ice.  The extra is a view of tree reflections on the frozen canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.