Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

The Family Silver

...sadly in need of polish, but I hope it fits the bill. The patterns are embossed and the monograms are engraved. Many silver patterns were created with a space in the design for the monogram, and some are even monogrammed on the back but it would seem that back in my great grandmother's (upper and lower left) day monograms were de rigueur.  I think my grandmother Alice Venable's  (lower right) initials lent themselves to a particularly elegant rendition. My mother had the same pattern (Kirk sterling, Mayflower) as grandma and I chose to go in a slightly more ornate direction with Kirk Old Maryland. (lower right)  It all got passed down through the generations and now lives with us. I confess I haven't used any of it, even on special occasions since we moved here, mostly because I never remember to polish it when there is time. 

I do love the family history and the stories that go with this drawer full of silver, including some pieces whose purpose has become lost in the mists of time and changing etiquette. Pickle forks? Crab pickers? Long handled spoons with twisted designs and pointy ends. All have been packed up and carted off during five evacuations and brought back with a huge sigh of relief when we returned. 

I suspect the tarnish is largely caused by smoke....

The day began with a visit from the rat trap checkers...all traps untouched this week which means they will be able to come back for two days next week and finish the job. 

We had a nice Pilates class on the floor. The emphasis was on precision and we moved slowly and held positions longer which can actually be harder than just slumping into the old habits. I didn't sleep very well last night but my body felt better than it has in quite awhile. 

Went from Pilates to a haircut and then a facial with the lovely Gail, so it has been a day of more or less total indulgence. 

Except for getting caught in pajamas and an uncut, uncombed fright wig by the rat patrol ,their timing was good and I suppose it's all in a day's work for them. There was no place to hide because the entrance to the crawl space under the house is in our closet....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.