A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Ready for Christmas!

This is the project I’ve been working on since returning from Bath after Christmas. Grace had seen it somewhere and I realised I had the design in a book, so once I’d gathered the materials together I’ve been doing it most evenings. 
I don’t normally do cross stitch in the winter when the light is poor but the colours here are bright and I was in the mood for it. 

Today I’ve been ironing it and checking the finishing. I’d missed the outline on half the cracker and in good light I could see the stripes should have been blue not black! I made the changes and added my initials and the date.

This is really only just the beginning as it’s to be an advent calendar for next year. I’ve got the rings to sew on and I’ve bought the ribbon, matchboxes and paper fasteners to make the holders for the gifts, but it’s a good start. I’m leaving the covering of the boxes and the gifts to put in them to Grace though I will look out for appropriate small things through the year. 

Once I’ve sewn the rings on I’ll mount it on board and get on with other things. I’ve a family tree embroidery to finish that I was given a couple of years ago but I’m waiting for some finishing names and dates and then I’ve got knitting waiting!

A bit crazy but good that it’s underway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.