Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

No stir in the air, no stir in the sea,

 . . . . . . . . . . 
The Ship was still as she could be;
Her sails from heaven received no motion,
Her keel was steady in the ocean.

Getting carried away here with Robert Southey's 'Inchcape Rock'. I've known that poem a long time - we may even have read it at school. But that's what it was like here this morning - so calm after the storms of the last few days.

Photo Club stuff this morning, then down to the gym for my weekly work-out. I usually walk, but rain was in the air, so I took the car. The gym was mobbed - so much so that we're going to have to book in online before turning up. Sometimes people were having to queue up for the various machines. The odd thing was that after 50 minutes or so I looked up from my rowing machine t find that I was the only one there! Obviously folk are not willing to stay for the hour!

Afterwards I went to to the computer place to get some advice about scanners, but unfortunately the shop was shut - must be out on a call.  So I went to the library instead to borrow the book on Nicky Winton by his daughter. It was on loan to another library, then booked by an Oban reader. I'm not surprised - after seeing the film 'One Life' no doubt many people want to read the book.

Nothing very exciting Blip-wise -another Plant Blip! Now that I don't have a big garden to propagate plants for it's fun to grow them for other people. These three have been propagated from plants in my garden and are bound for Dunollie. Left to right - Embothrium coccineum, Euphorbia mellifera and Piptanthus nepalensis. Still too small to go out - maybe next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.