Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Waiting for the chips!

Good to wake up to a calm day! I heard the rain thundering against the window during the night, but it's decided to give us a break today. 

I said yesterday that I hadn't seen any storm damage, though I hadn't been very far from home. However, going outside this morning I found that the fairly tall conifer growing just beyond our fence, not twenty feet from the front door, had blown down during the night! Fortunately it fell lengthwise to the fence so no damage was done, - if it had gone the other way it could have demolished the greenhouse! It's too much of a coincidence that a few weeks ago my neighbour felled four trees beside it, leaving it more vulnerable. We're getting more exposed by the day!

I spent a fair bit of time today trying to select some images for our Inter-club competition. Hard to find anything really special, but our club decides which ones go forward. After lunch I walked down town - it was surprisingly warm-ish, no rain, hardly any wind - and sunshine!

As I walked along the seafront I noticed this man across the street eating a fish supper, surrounded by a flock of gulls. I raised my camera just as something disturbed them and he was left on his own. A few minutes later a few of them came back and one of them joined him on the table. I pressed the shutter and a second later he got up - see extra. This is the fun thing about street photography!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.