Ingleman

By Ingleman

Look Through Any Window

My blip today comes from another intriguing South Shropshire church. 

All Saints Church, Culmington.

I found it so compelling that I could not cover it in just one photo. 

Sorry. 

It dates, in part, back to the 11th century. But has had many changes through the centuries.

It has lancet leaded light windows, just two stained glass windows, several notable memorials to vicars and parishioners past.

And an amazing tower, that has original local stone walls topped by a modern aluminium spire.

There is a lot more to this than meets the eye and I hope to return for a more in depth examination. 

The stained glass windows are from 1865, the font from 1863 and the tiny window in the first extra is thought to have medieval metal work. 

I spend a lot of time in places like this and learn a lot from each visit. By the time I am a hundred years old I will be expert! 

And there are snow drops! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.